Beware of this 'Telstra Billing and Account Management' email - it looks like the real thing but its a scam.
This email caught my attention this morning, mainly because the 'from' email address is shown as 'team@bigpond.com' - a legitimate looking email address using the .bigpond domain. I knew it was a scam, because firstly, I am not a bigpond customer and secondly they are asking for my account information. But I checked the Telstra Bigpond website directly and yes, this particular email is definitely a scam. As I am used to getting dodgy emails like this, I usually delete them or my spam filter gets them. This particular one was not flagged as spam, and had me doing a double take, so I thought I had better share this with you.
This particular scam email is a type of scam called "phishing" which Wikipedia defines as: "the criminally fraudulent process of attempting to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords and credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication".
