Chinese domain name scam

22 November 2010

There are emails circulating from domain registration companies in China trying to get you to register the Chinese equivalent of your existing domain name.

The email below is a typical example and is one I have received myself (but there are many different variations from different businesses):

Dear darwinwebdesign team,
Our organization received a formal application from a company who is called Moltion Ltd are applying to register "darwinwebdesign" as their domain name and Internet keyword. In order to prevent cyber piracy,Please explain:
1: Whether this company is your IT supplier or distributor.
2: Whether you are interested in registering these domains first to preservation your company’s brand. (.cn .com.cn .net .asia .eu and keyword etc…)
We are now obligated to inform you this issue ,So we will handle the next step after this audit procedure. Pls understand.

Best regards
Obert
Mww Group
Internet: www.todayisp.com
Internet: www.dboxs.org
Email: Obert@dboxs.or

Chinese domain

If for some reason you think that you DO need a chinese domain name, please contact a reputable local domain registrar for advice.

Further reading

For further information and examples of other people's experiences with this scam, please see the links below:

Don’t answer the email or they will do the hard sell. I’ve seen the same email on numerous occasion over the years – so all is fine to delete and forget.

<< Return